Age Groups


Available For


Contact form submissions will be sent directly to the author. For tracking purposes only, The Friends will also receive a copy.

Kurtis Scaletta

Kurtis Scaletta is the author of several novels for young readers including Mudville, Mamba Point, The Tanglewood Terror, The Winter of the Robots, and Rooting for Rafael Rosales. He also wrote the Topps League series. Scaletta was born in Louisiana, but moved a lot as a kid. He lived in five states and three foreign countries before graduating from high school. One place he lived, Monrovia Liberia, is the setting of Mamba Point which is the only quasi-autobiographical book he has written. He attended the University of North Dakota and the University of Maine before moving to Minneapolis. He now lives in the Victory neighborhood with his wife, son, and three striped cats.

Recent & Notable Works



Lukezilla Beats the Game (Capstone, 2020)

Trailblazers: Lin-Manuel Miranda (Stripes/Random House Books for Young Readers, 2020)

Trailblazers: Jackie Robinson (Stripes/Random House Books for Young Readers, 2019)

Several titles under name Israel Keats (Lerner Publications/Darby Creek, 2016-2018)

Rooting for Rafael Rosales (Albert Whitman & Company, 2017)

The Winter of the Robots (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2013)

Topps League Series (Abrams Amulet, 2012-2013)

The Tanglewood Terror (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2011)

Mamba Point (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2010)

Mudville (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2009)

Center for the Book COLOR LOGO