Age Groups


Available For

Book Club Visits
Manuscript Critiques
School Visits


Contact form submissions will be sent directly to the author. For tracking purposes only, The Friends will also receive a copy.

Sheila O’Connor

Sheila O’Connor is the author of Where No Gods Came, Tokens of Grace, and Evidence of V: A Novel in Fragments, Facts, and Fictions. Her novels for readers (10+) include Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth, Sparrow Road, and Keeping Safe the Stars. Awards for her books include the Michigan Prize for Literary Fiction, Minnesota Book Award, International Reading Award, and Midwest Booksellers Award among others. Her books have been included in Best Books of the Year by Booklist, VOYA, Book Page, Bank Street, Chicago Public Library, and Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers. A multi-genre writer, O’Connor’s stories, poems, and essays have been published in magazines and anthologies including Bellingham Review, Minnesota Monthly, Alaska Quarterly Review, and others. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, she has been awarded two Bush Fellowships, Minnesota State Arts Board grants, and a McKnight Artist Fellowship in poetry. She is a professor at Hamline University in the Creative Writing Program and Fiction Editor for Water~Stone Review. O’Connor welcomes the opportunity to partner with schools, libraries, and community organizations throughout Minnesota.

Recent & Notable Works



Evidence of V: A Novel in Fragments, Facts and Fictions (Rose Metal Press, 2019)

Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth (Penguin Random House, 2018)

Keeping Safe the Stars (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, 2012)

Sparrow Road (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, 2011)

Where No Gods Came (University of Michigan Press, 2003)

Tokens of Grace (Milkweed Editions, 1990)

Center for the Book COLOR LOGO