Poetry writers from Minnesota.


Linda LeGarde Grover

Linda LeGarde Grover is a member of the Bois Forte Band of Ojibwe and a professor emeritus of American Indian Studies at the University of Minnesota, Duluth. Her works reflect her scholarly research on federal policy and American Indian families. Her fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction have received the Flannery O’Connor Award, the Northeastern Minnesota…

Lee_Sherry Quan_headshot_2022

Sherry Quan Lee

Sherry Quan Lee, MFA, taught Creative Writing at Saint Catherine University and Metropolitan State University. She is author of Chinese Blackbird, a memoir in verse; How to Write a Suicide Note: Serial Essays that Saved a Woman’s Life; Love Imagined: a Mixed Race Memoir, a 2015 Minnesota Book Award Finalist; How Dare We! Write: a…


Rachel Moritz

Rachel Moritz is the author of Borrowed Wave, a finalist for the National Poetry Series as well as the 2015 Minnesota Book Award in Poetry. Her second poetry collection, Sweet Velocity, won the 2016 Besmilr Brigham Women Writer’s Award from Lost Roads Press. Moritz is also the co-editor of a collection of personal essays, My…


James Silas Rogers

James Silas Rogers is an editor and creative writer. His book of essays and poems about cemeteries, Northern Orchards: Places Near the Dead, was a finalist for the Minnesota Book Award in Memoir & Creative Nonfiction. Four of his essays have been selected as a “notable” in the annual Best American Essays volume (and as…


Laura Purdie Salas

Laura Purdie Salas has written more than 130 books for kids, including Lion of the Sky, the Can Be… series (Bank Street Best Books, IRA Teachers’ Choice), BookSpeak! (Minnesota Book Award, NCTE Notable), and Clover Kitty Goes to Kittygarten. Science and poetry are her first loves, and she enjoys mashing up different genres and styles.…


Joyce Sidman

Joyce Sidman’s books have won a Newbery Honor (Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night), a Sibert Award for Nonfiction (The Girl Who Drew Butterflies) and two Caldecott Honors. Her book What the Heart Knows was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. In 2013, she received the NCTE Award for Excellence…

Shin-SY_headshot_2022 books

신 선 영 Sun Yung Shin

신 선 영 辛善英 Sun Yung Shin’s third book of poetry Unbearable Splendor won the 2017 Minnesota Book Award for poetry. She is the Korean-born author of four books of poetry including most recently The Wet Hex in 2022 and is the editor of three acclaimed anthologies of essays including A Good Time for the…


Julie Gard

Julie Gard’s prose poetry collections include Scrap: On Louise Nevelson and Home Studies, which was a finalist for a 2016 Minnesota Book Award. Her chapbooks are Obscura: The Daguerreotype Series and Russia in 17 Objects. Gard’s poems, stories, and essays have appeared in Gertrude, Fourth River, Clackamas Literary Review, Crab Orchard Review, Ekphrasis, and Blackbox…


Patricia Kirkpatrick

Patricia Kirkpatrick received the Lindquist & Vennum Poetry Prize for Odessa and was awarded a 2013 Minnesota Book Award. Her awards include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Bush Foundation, Jerome Foundation, the McKnight Foundation, the Loft, and Minnesota State Arts Board. She has taught writing at many colleges, including the University of…


Caitlin Bailey

Caitlin Bailey received an MFA from Hamline University. Her first book, Solve for Desire, won the 2017 Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry and was a finalist for the 2017 Minnesota Book Awards. Her poems have appeared in Hayden’s Ferry Review, Sugar House Review, Bateau, Carolina Quarterly, and elsewhere. She lives in Saint Paul.