Poetry writers from Minnesota.


Laura Purdie Salas

Laura Purdie Salas has written more than 130 books for kids, including Lion of the Sky, the Can Be… series (Bank Street Best Books, IRA Teachers’ Choice), BookSpeak! (Minnesota Book Award, NCTE Notable), and Clover Kitty Goes to Kittygarten. Science and poetry are her first loves, and she enjoys mashing up different genres and styles.…


Joyce Sidman

Joyce Sidman’s books have won a Newbery Honor (Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night), a Sibert Award for Nonfiction (The Girl Who Drew Butterflies) and two Caldecott Honors. Her book What the Heart Knows was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. In 2013, she received the NCTE Award for Excellence…


신 선 영 Sun Yung Shin

신 선 영 辛善英 Sun Yung Shin’s third book of poetry Unbearable Splendor won the 2017 Minnesota Book Award for poetry. She is the Korean-born author of four books of poetry including most recently The Wet Hex in 2022 and is the editor of three acclaimed anthologies of essays including A Good Time for the…


Julie Gard

Julie Gard’s prose poetry collections include Scrap: On Louise Nevelson and Home Studies, which was a finalist for a 2016 Minnesota Book Award. Her chapbooks are Obscura: The Daguerreotype Series and Russia in 17 Objects. Gard’s poems, stories, and essays have appeared in Gertrude, Fourth River, Clackamas Literary Review, Crab Orchard Review, Ekphrasis, and Blackbox…


Patricia Kirkpatrick

Patricia Kirkpatrick received the first Lindquist & Vennum Poetry Prize for Odessa and was awarded a 2013 Minnesota Book Award. Her awards include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Bush Foundation, Jerome Foundation, the McKnight Foundation, the Loft, and Minnesota State Arts Board. Her poetry has been set to music by composers Carol…


Caitlin Bailey

Caitlin Bailey received an MFA from Hamline University. Her first book, Solve for Desire, won the 2017 Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry and was a finalist for the 2017 Minnesota Book Awards. Her poems have appeared in Hayden’s Ferry Review, Sugar House Review, Bateau, Carolina Quarterly, and elsewhere. She lives in Saint Paul.


Todd Boss

Todd Boss is a poet, librettist, public artist, and film producer. His diverse career is the result of his passion for collaboration. He is the author of three books of poetry, Yellowrocket, Pitch, and Tough Luck. His poems have appeared in Poetry, The London Times, The New Yorker, and Best American Poetry. Boss says he…


Dore Kiesselbach

Dore Kiesselbach earned his B.A. from Oberlin College, MFA from the Iowa Writer’s Workshop, and J.D. from New York University. He has published two collections of poetry – Albatross and Salt Pier. His work has appeared in many magazines including FIELD, Poetry, AGNI, and The Poetry Review. His honors include the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize,…


Heid E. Erdrich

Heid E. Erdrich is the author of five poetry collections, most recently Curator of Ephemera at the New Museum for Archaic Media. Her non-fiction memoir-in-recipes, Original Local, was a 2014 City Pages Top Food Book. She co-edited the anthology of Native American women’s writings Sister Nations and is editor of New Poets of Native Nations.…


Matt Rasmussen

Matt Rasmussen is the author of Black Aperture, which won the 2013 Walt Whitman Award, the 2014 Minnesota Book Award for Poetry, and was a finalist for the National Book Award. His poems have been published in The Literary Review, Gulf Coast, Water~Stone Review, Revolver, Paper Darts, Poets.org, and elsewhere. He received a 2014 Pushcart…